Skip directly to content


Total Blam Blam's picture

Tilda Swinton’s CFDA tribute to Bowie

on June 07, 2016


“And so the story goes, they wore the clothes...”


Last night at the CFDA Awards at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York, actress Tilda Swinton paid emotional tribute to David Bowie while collecting the statuette for the BOARD OF DIRECTORS’ TRIBUTE to David Bowie.

Star of Lazarus, Michael C. Hall, performed a visually exciting rendition of Changes with a trio of Ziggyettes...more of which, later.

Tilda read the moving letter to Bowie, introducing it by explaining she was there on behalf of his wife, Iman: “Tonight is David and Iman's 24th wedding anniversary,” She said.

Total Blam Blam's picture

Wedding anniversary post from Iman

on June 06, 2016


June 6th...., 24th wedding anniversary ‪



Total Blam Blam's picture

Bowie tune in penultimate Peaky Blinders

on June 01, 2016


“I’ve got drama, can’t be stolen”


You’ve no doubt seen the stories of David Bowie’s love of the BBC 2 TV show, Peaky Blinders.

Bowie’s interest in the original Birmingham gang predates the show and he held a fascination for the distinctive clothes they wore: peaked caps, cravats, bell-bottom trousers with heavy buckled belts and jackets with brass buttons.

The legend (though possibly untrue), that the name Peaky Blinders came from the method the gang used to rob victims of their eyesight (peaked caps with concealed razors), was one of the details that didn’t escape Bowie’s attention.

Total Blam Blam's picture

Mick Rock in NY tonight London September

on June 01, 2016


“I asked for an autograph...”


If you’re in New York this evening, you still have time to get along to the TASCHEN Store New York, to meet Micĸ Rocĸ as he signs copies of The Rise Of David Bowie - 1972-1973.

Check out the events page here on FB for more details.


Wednesday, June 1st

7 pm – 9 pm

TASCHEN Store New York, 107 Greene Street (between Prince and Spring)

Space is limited. RSVP required: 212-226-2212 or


There will also be a London signing in September, details below.


Thursday, September 8th

6:30 pm – 8:30 pm

TASCHEN Store London, 12 Duke of York Square,

Total Blam Blam's picture

Bowie surprise guest at Gilmour gig

on May 29, 2016


“Silhouettes and shadows...”


Around this time exactly ten years ago, people were travelling home from a David Gilmour gig at the Royal Albert Hall in London, having just witnessed a special guest appearance by David Bowie. In the event, that show of May 29th, 2006, would prove to be his last public performance in the UK.


The event was reported the next day by Total Blam Blam on We’ve posted that brief review below.


+ - + - + - + - + - + - + - + - + - + - + - + - + - + - +


“David Bowie's on the phone, dad... ,” my daughter Holly casually announced late yesterday