Skip directly to content

Total Blam Blam's blog

Total Blam Blam's picture

164-page French MUZIQ Bowie special

on March 16, 2015


“The Muziq is outside”


You’ve no doubt already seen this, it’s another French publication celebrating the arrival of David Bowie is at Philharmonie de Paris

It’s a beautifully designed little thing, jam-packed with features and photos which you can get a flavour of courtesy of photo journalist, Philippe Auliac, who (as you can see from our montage), took some of the very best live shots of Bowie as the Thin White Duke.

Scroll the images to view a random grab of a few of the pages from Muziq #4 (also kindly supplied by Philippe Auliac). Read all about it in French here.

We’ll leave you

Total Blam Blam's picture

Eric Dahan and Jérôme Soligny on Bowie the actor

on March 11, 2015


“Hooked to the silver screen”


French Bowie know-it-alls and regular all round chaps, Eric Dahan and Jérôme Soligny, cast their collective eye back over David Bowie’s long and distinguished acting career for Sophie Soligny’s film blog: ANOTHER FILM ANOTHER PLANET.

In keeping with the Parisian flavour this page has had recently, the feature is in French, but if you’re not a reader of that particular language, stick it through an online translator to get the gist.

If you see this crude method as an insult and bastardisation of the work of the journalists involved, perhaps you could identify

Total Blam Blam's picture

David Bowie Is screening in France & Switzerland Thursday

on March 09, 2015


“If we can sparkle he may land tonight”


There are 80 screenings of Hamish Hamilton’s superb David Bowie is documentary in France and Switzerland this Thursday, March 12, with encores at the same venues on Monday, June 1.

So if you’re undecided whether to make the trip to Paris for the exhibition proper or not, check out the film first and get a flavour of what amazing Bowie treasures await you in the French capital.

Visit this page to find your nearest participating picture house.

Total Blam Blam's picture

Gadzooks! Jones on the BBC fifty years ago today

on March 08, 2015


“Didn't they teach you to get your hair cut at school?”


Fifty years ago today, publicity of the rumpus caused by the length of 18-year-old Davy Jones' hair culminated with a live performance on BBC 2.

You’re possibly familiar with the story of The Manish Boys' public quarrel with Barry Langford, producer of Gadzooks! It's All Happening.

Total Blam Blam's picture

BBC Radio 6 Music’s Matt Everitt reports from Paris

on March 07, 2015


“You drive like a demon from station to station”


Champion of all things Bowie, Matt Everitt from BBC Radio 6 Music, kindly offered to send us a few words regarding the Paris version of David Bowie Is, on account of him being invited to the opening gala.

However, on the day, his check-in time came and went and though we knew he wasn’t one for sleeping In (he’s a regular co-presenter for the 6 Music Breakfast Show), he is allegedly a bit of a daydreamer.

We worried he was going to miss the stardust and glamour of the gala opening, and, being brave, we decided to give him a call.